هل سيصبح الموز ساخنًا جدًا؟

قد يؤدي تغير المناخ إلى انخفاض الغلة في المحاصيل المهمة

كيف يؤثر تغير المناخ على محاصيل الموز؟ © skodonnell / istock
قراءة بصوت عال

الثمار الاستوائية في ورطة: يمكن أن يؤدي تغير المناخ إلى خسائر كبيرة في المحاصيل في بعض المناطق التي تزرع فيها الموز. كما هو متوقع ، يكون الجو حارًا وجافًا للغاية بالنسبة لثمار أكبر منتج للهند في العالم وفي الدولة المنتجة المهمة للبرازيل. ولكن هناك أخبار سارة أيضًا: في بعض البلدان ، قد تتحسن ظروف زراعة الموز في المستقبل.

الموز هو واحد من أكثر الفواكه استهلاكًا في بلدنا. عبواتها الطبيعية ، حلاوتها اللطيفة وتأثيرها الساطع جعلتها وجبة خفيفة شائعة في العالم المتقدم. في العديد من البلدان المدارية وشبه المدارية ، يعتبر الموز أيضًا غذاءً مهمًا ويمثل عاملاً اقتصاديًا مهمًا باعتباره ثمرة التصدير.

وقال فارون فارما ودانييل بيبير من جامعة إكستر: "بالنظر إلى أهمية هذه الثمار ، من المفاجئ قلة عدد الموز الذي أدرج في تقديرات تأثير تغير المناخ على الأمن الغذائي والغذائي".

هل خطر خسارة المحاصيل؟

هل من الممكن أن يؤدي الاحترار العالمي في حصاد الموز إلى خسائر مماثلة لتلك التي تنبأ بها خبراء آخرون من أجل القمح أو الذرة أو القهوة؟ لاكتشاف ذلك ، قام العلماء الآن بتقييم بيانات إنتاج الموز في 27 دولة. تمثل هذه الدول 86٪ من الإنتاج العالمي وتستضيف 80٪ من المساحة العالمية.

لدراستهم ، قام Varma and Bebber بجمع المعلومات حول عائدات السنوات الماضية مع بيانات عن متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة السنوية وهطول الأمطار. تحت أي ظروف يمكن حصاد الكثير من الفواكه في المناطق المعنية؟ بناءً على هذه النتائج ، بالإضافة إلى معلومات حول فسيولوجيا الموز ، طور فريق البحث أخيرًا نماذج تصور تأثير التغيرات المناخية على عائد الموز. عرض

خسائر بسبب ارتفاع درجات الحرارة

أظهرت النتائج أن الحصاد السنوي زاد بشكل عام بين عامي 1961 و 2016 - بمتوسط ​​1.37 طن لكل هكتار. "يبدو أن هذا التأثير كان مدفوعًا بشكل أساسي بارتفاع درجات الحرارة" ، كما يشرح فارما وبيبر. "البلدان التي أدى فيها ارتفاع درجات الحرارة إلى درجات حرارة مثالية شهدت مكاسب في الإنتاجية. حيث تجاوزت درجات الحرارة الأمثل الإقليمي ، فقدت غلة المحاصيل ".

ووفقًا للتقييمات ، فإن هذا الأخير ينطبق على أربعة من الدول التي شملها الاستطلاع ، ولكن في المستقبل ، قد يكون لتغير المناخ في المزيد من الدول المنتجة للموز تأثير سلبي ، كما تشير التوقعات.

الهند والبرازيل كخاسرين

من أجل إلقاء نظرة خاطفة على المستقبل ، استخدم العلماء سيناريو المناخ الخاص بالاحترار غير المقيد (RCP 8.5) وكذلك سيناريو توفر فيه حماية المناخ على الأقل تخفيفًا للاحترار (RCP 4.5). كشفت عمليات المحاكاة النموذجية أنه حتى مع الاحترار المعتدل نسبيًا ، سيكون هناك انخفاض كبير في المحاصيل في عشرة بلدان خلال العقود الثلاثة القادمة.

تتأثر بالتالي مصدري الموز المهمين مثل كولومبيا وكوستاريكا. بالنسبة للهند والبرازيل - أكبر ورابع أكبر المنتجين - يتنبأ النموذج بخسائر كبيرة. البلدان الأخرى ، من ناحية أخرى ، يمكن أن تستفيد من تقدم تغير المناخ. وتشمل هذه بعض الدول الأفريقية وإكوادور ، بطل العالم في مجال تصدير الموز.

الطقس المتطرفة لم تؤخذ في الاعتبار بعد

"تكشف تنبؤاتنا أن الآثار الإيجابية لتغير المناخ على عوائد الموز العالمية ستستمر في المستقبل ، ولكن بدرجة أقل بكثير" ، وفقًا لتقرير الباحثين. بشكل عام ، قد تنخفض غلة المحاصيل بحلول عام 2050 إلى 0.59 (RCP 4.5) أو حتى 0.19 طن (RCP 8.5) لكل هكتار.

ومع ذلك ، كما يؤكد Varma و Bebber ، لا تظهر هذه الأرقام سوى جزء من الصورة. لأنها تستند إلى متوسط ​​التغيرات المناخية. "إن التهديدات الأخرى المتعلقة بتغير المناخ ، مثل الزيادة في الظروف الجوية القاسية ، لم تؤخذ في الاعتبار بعد" ، يشرحون.

الفطر كتهديد إضافي

يبدو واضحًا أن على العديد من المزارعين المهمين التكيف مع التغيرات الملحوظة في المستقبل. يقول بيبير: "سيكون هناك فائزون وخاسرون في السنوات القادمة". ويأمل الباحثون أن تستجيب البلدان التي تم تحديدها الآن على أنها ضعيفة من خلال الاستثمار ، على سبيل المثال ، في تكنولوجيا الري وغيرها من التدابير.

"من الضروري أن نستعد للزراعة المدارية للتغيرات المناخية المستقبلية" ، يخلص بيبير. ومع ذلك ، فإن الحرارة والجفاف ربما لن يكونا التحدي الوحيد في المستقبل. حتى الفطر الخطير من جنس Fusarium من جنوب شرق آسيا يهدد الموز. ينتشر العامل الممرض منذ التسعينيات وهو الآن يصيب الثمار في شرق إفريقيا وأمريكا الوسطى. (Nature Climate Change، 2019؛ doi: 10.1038 / s41558-019-0559-9)

المصدر: مطبعة الطبيعة / جامعة اكستر

- دانيال ألبات

Will the banana get too hot?

Climate change could lead to lower yields in important crops

How does climate change affect banana crops? © skodonnell / istock
Read out

Tropical fruits in trouble: Climate change could lead to significant crop losses in some banana-growing areas. As a forecast shows, it is just too hot and dry for the fruits of the world's largest producer India and in the important producer country of Brazil. But there is good news too: in some countries, the conditions for growing bananas may even get better in the future.

The banana is one of the most consumed fruits in our country. Their natural packaging, their pleasant sweetness and their satiating effect have made them a popular snack in the developed world. In many tropical and subtropical countries, banana is also an important staple food and represents an important economic factor as an export fruit.

"Given the importance of these fruits, it is surprising how little banana has been included in estimates of the impact of climate change on food and food security, " said Varun Varma and Daniel Bebber of the University of Exeter.

Do you risk crop losses?

Will global warming in banana harvesting possibly result in losses similar to those predicted by experts among others for wheat, corn or coffee? To find out, the scientists have now evaluated data on banana production in 27 countries. These nations account for 86 percent of global production and host 80 percent of the global acreage.

For their study, Varma and Bebber combined information on past years' returns with data on annual average temperatures and precipitation. Under what conditions could particularly many fruits be harvested in the respective regions? Based on these results, as well as information on the physiology of the banana, the research team finally developed models that depict the effect of climatic changes on the banana yield. display

Losses due to high temperatures

The results showed that annual harvests increased overall between 1961 and 2016 - an average of 1.37 tonnes per hectare. "This effect seems to have been driven mainly by rising temperatures, " explain Varma and Bebber. "Countries where warming has led to more ideal temperatures have seen productivity gains. Where the temperatures exceeded the regional optimum, crop yields were lost. "

According to the evaluations, the latter is true for four of the countries surveyed, but in the future, climate change in more banana-producing nations could have a negative impact, as the forecasts suggest.

India and Brazil as losers

For their glimpse into the future, the scientists used the climate scenario of unrestrained warming (RCP 8.5) as well as one in which climate protection at least provides for a mitigation of warming (RCP 4.5). The model simulations revealed that even with comparatively moderate warming, there will be significant crop reductions in ten countries over the next three decades.

Affected are therefore important banana exporters such as Colombia and Costa Rica. For India and Brazil - the largest and fourth largest producers - the model predicts significant losses. Other countries, on the other hand, could benefit from the progression of climate change. These include some African states and Ecuador, the export world champion in banana matters.

Weather extremes not yet taken into account

"Our predictions reveal that positive effects of climate change on global banana yields will continue in the future, but to a much lesser extent, " the researchers report. Overall, crop yields by 2050 could fall to 0.59 (RCP 4.5) or even 0.19 tonnes (RCP 8.5) per hectare.

However, as Varma and Bebber emphasize, these numbers only show part of the picture. Because they are based on average climate changes. "Other climate change-related threats, such as the increase in weather extremes, have not yet been taken into account, " they explain.

Mushroom as an additional threat

It seems clear that many important growers will have to adapt to noticeable changes in the future. "There will be winners and losers in the coming years, " says Bebber. The researchers hope that the countries now identified as vulnerable will respond by investing, for example, in irrigation technology and other measures.

"It is imperative that we prepare tropical agriculture for future climate changes, " concludes Bebber. However, heat and drought will probably not be the only challenge of the future. For even a dangerous fungus of the genus Fusarium from Southeast Asia threatens the banana. The pathogen has been spreading ever since the 1990s and is now also infecting fruits in East Africa and Central America. (Nature Climate Change, 2019; doi: 10.1038 / s41558-019-0559-9)

Source: Nature Press / University of Exeter

- Daniel Albat