من أين أتى الفلسطينيون؟

تبين تحاليل الحمض النووي أن أسلاف الكتاب المقدس جاءوا من أوروبا

تنقيبات عظام فليستيني ميت - أحد أفراد الشعب الذي ينتمي إليه العملاق التوراتي جالوت. © Melissa Aja / Leon Levy Expedition to Ashkelon
قراءة بصوت عال

كان لجالوت جذور أوروبية: كان يمكن للباحثين حل لغز أصل الفلسطينيين - الأشخاص المذكورون في الكتاب المقدس كخصم للإسرائيليين. تبعا لذلك ، كانت هذه المجموعة العرقية من أصل أوروبي على ما يبدو - أسلافهم جاءوا من جنوب أوروبا في نهاية العصر البرونزي. تم الكشف عن هذا الآن من خلال تحليل الحمض النووي لعشرة قتلى ماتوا في مدينة عسقلان الفلسطينية خلال العصور البرونزية والحديدية.

منذ حوالي 3200 عام ، شهدت العديد من الثقافات في الشرق الأوسط تغييراً كبيراً. تلاشت قوة العديد من الإمبراطوريات العظيمة ، بما في ذلك المصريون والمسينيين والحثيين. انتشار مراكز جديدة للسلطة والثقافات. وكان من بينهم الفلسطينيون - أناس أسسوا بعد ذلك اتحادًا من خمس مدن على ساحل كنعان القديمة. من التقليد التوراتي ، يُعرف الفلسطينيون باسم خصوم الإسرائيليين ، وقد هزم ممثلهم الأكثر شهرة من قبل المحارب ديفيد جالوت.

إعادة بناء منزل فلسطيني منذ 3200 عام. © Balage Balogh / ليون ليفي إكسبيديشن إلى عسقلان

سر الفلسطينيين

لكن من هم هؤلاء الفلسطينيون؟ ومن أين أتوا؟ يبدو واضحًا أن وجودهم قد أحدث تغييرًا ثقافيًا كبيرًا ، كما يتضح من الاكتشافات الأثرية من المدن الفلسطينية مثل عسقلان وأشدود وعقرون. يقول ميشال فيلدمان من معهد ماكس بلانك للتاريخ الإنساني في يينا وفريقه: "هذه المستوطنات كانت مختلفة في العمارة والثقافة المادية عن جيرانها". يفترض الباحثون ، إذن ، أن الفلسطينيين هاجروا إلى إسرائيل من مكان آخر.

وفقًا لأحد النظريات ، كان الفلسطينيون ينتمون إلى "شعب البحر" الغامض - المهاجرون الرحل ، الذين غزوا المناطق الساحلية في البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​في نهاية العصر البرونزي. أصولها غير معروفة أيضًا ، حيث تتراوح الفرضيات من آسيا الصغرى على اليونان إلى السهوب الأوراسية. غير أن باحثين آخرين يعتبرون أن إمبراطورية الفلسطينيين هي أكثر من تأثير للهجرة المحلية والتأثيرات الثقافية.

حصة الجينات الأوروبية

من أجل حل لغز الفلسطينيين ، قام فيلدمان وفريقه بتحليل الحمض النووي لعشرة أشخاص ماتوا دفنوا عند الانتقال من العصر البرونزي إلى العصر الحديدي في عسقلان. قارن الباحثون المادة الوراثية مع تلك الموجودة في الأوروبيين اليوم وتلك الموجودة في العصر الحديث والبرونزي في بلاد الشام وآسيا الصغرى. عرض

النتيجة: حتى نهاية العصر البرونزي ، كان سكان عسقلان جزءًا من مزيج السكان الطبيعي في بلاد الشام. ومع ذلك ، مع بداية العصر الحديدي ، تغيرت الصورة: أظهر الموتى الأربعة منذ حوالي 3200 عام نسبًا كبيرة من الحمض النووي الأوروبي. يقول الباحثون: "تنعكس الخصائص الثقافية الفريدة للفلسطينيين الأوائل في تكوين وراثي محدد".

هذا يجعل من الواضح أن الفلسطينيين لم تكن مجموعة عرقية محلية بحتة. بدلاً من ذلك ، هاجروا إلى الانتقال من العصر البرونزي إلى العصر الحديدي إلى كنعان. يقول فيلدمان وفريقه: "هذا يتفق مع الشهادات المحفوظة والمكتوبة".

كريت وسردينيا وشبه الجزيرة الايبيرية

لكن من أين أتى أسلاف الفلسطينيين من أوروبا؟ كشفت مقارنات الحمض النووي الأكثر تفصيلاً عن أوجه التشابه بين الجينوم الفلسطيني وكريت العصر البرونزي والإيبريين ، وكذلك سكان جزيرة سردينيا الحديثة. هذا يتحدث عن أصل الفلسطينيين من جنوب أوروبا أو من الجزر في البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​، كما يقول الباحثون. ومع ذلك ، يؤكدون أيضًا أنهم لم يدرجوا بعد جميع السكان المؤهلين في المقارنات.

ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه النتائج ليست فقط مثيرة للاهتمام فيما يتعلق بالفلسطينيين - يمكنهم أيضًا المساعدة في توضيح لغز شعب البحر. لأنه إذا كان الفلسطينيون واحداً منهم ، فإن سلالتهم قد تفقد أيضًا أصل هؤلاء القراصنة والغزاة من العصر البرونزي. في الواقع ، فإن بيانات الحمض النووي الجديدة تضعف على الأقل إحدى النظريات الشائعة: لم يجد فيلدمان وفريقه تطابقًا جيدًا مع الحمض النووي لشعوب السهوب في العصر البرونزي.

"هذه البيانات تبدأ في سد الفجوة الزمنية في الخريطة الجينية لشرق المتوسط" ، يوضح زميل فيلدمان يوهانس كراوس.

تم "تخفيف" الجينات الأوروبية بسرعة

ومع ذلك ، كشف تحليل الحمض النووي أنه بعد وصول الفلسطينيين إلى عسقلان ، اختلطوا بسرعة مع جيرانهم. بعد 200 عام ، لا يمكن اكتشاف البصمة الوراثية للمهاجرين ، كما يقول الباحثون. على ما يبدو ، كانت حصة الجينات الأوروبية "مخففة" بشدة عن طريق التزاوج مع السكان المحليين.

على الرغم من أن الفلسطينيين في أواخر العصر الحديدي اختلفوا ثقافياً عن جيرانهم ، إلا أنهم "تم تجنيسهم" وراثياً لفترة طويلة. (العلوم المتقدمة ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1126 / sciadv.aax0061)

المصدر: معهد ماكس بلانك لتاريخ البشرية

- ناديا بودبريجار

Where did the Philistines come from?

DNA analyzes show that ancestors of the biblical people came from Europe

Excavations of the bones of a dead Philistine - a member of the people, to whom the biblical giant Goliath belonged. © Melissa Aja / Leon Levy Expedition to Ashkelon
Read out

Goliath had European roots: researchers could have solved the mystery of the origin of the Philistines - the people mentioned in the Bible as the adversary of the Israelites. Accordingly, this ethnic group was apparently of European descent - their ancestors came from Southern Europe at the end of the Bronze Age. This is now revealed by DNA analyzes of ten dead who died in the Philistine city of Ashkelon during the Bronze and Iron Ages.

Around 3, 200 years ago, many cultures in the Middle East experienced a major change. The power of many great empires, including the Egyptians, Mycenaeans and Hittites, waned. New centers of power and cultures spread. Among them were the Philistines - a people who then founded a five-city union on the coast of ancient Canaan. From the biblical tradition, the Philistines are known as opponents of the Israelites, their most famous representative was defeated by David warrior Goliath.

Reconstruction of a Philistine household 3200 years ago. © Balage Balogh / Leon Levy Expedition to Ashkelon

The mystery of the Philistines

But who were these Philistines? And where did they come from? It seems clear that their presence has brought significant cultural change, as evidenced by archaeological finds from the Philistine cities of Ashkelon, Ashdod and Ekron. "These settlements were different in architecture and material culture than their neighbors, " report Michal Feldmann from the Max Planck Institute for Human History in Jena and his team. Researchers assume, therefore, that the Philistines immigrated to Israel from elsewhere.

According to one theory, the Philistines belonged to the mysterious "sea people" nomadic immigrants, who invaded coastal areas in the Mediterranean at the end of the Bronze Age. Their origins are also unknown Hypotheses range from Asia Minor over Greece to the Eurasian steppe. Other researchers, however, regard the Philistine Empire as more of a consequence of local immigration and cultural influences.

A European gene share

To solve the riddle of the Philistines, Feldmann and his team have now analyzed the DNA of ten dead people who were buried at the transition from the Bronze Age to the Iron Age in Ashkelon. The researchers compared the genetic material with that of today's Europeans and those of modern and Bronze Age inhabitants of the Levant and Asia Minor. display

The result: Until the end of the Bronze Age, the inhabitants of Ashkelon were part of the normal population mix of the Levant. However, with the beginning of the Iron Age, the picture changed: the four dead from the time around 3, 200 years ago showed significant proportions of European DNA. "The unique cultural characteristics of the early Philistines are thus reflected in a specific genetic composition, " say the researchers.

This makes it clear that the Philistines were not a purely local ethnic group. Instead, they migrated to the transition from the Bronze Age to the Iron Age to Canaan. "That agrees with the archological and written testimonials, " report Feldmann and his team.

Crete, Sardinia and the Iberian Peninsula

But where did the ancestors of the Philistines come from in Europe? More detailed DNA comparisons revealed similarities between the Philistine genome and Bronze Age Cretans and Iberians, as well as modern inhabitants of Sardinia. This speaks for an origin of the Philistines from southern Europe or from the islands in the Mediterranean, as the researchers report. However, they also stress that they have not yet included all eligible populations in the comparisons.

However, these results are not only interesting with regard to the Philistines - they could also help to clarify the riddle of the sea people. For if the Philistines were one of them, their lineage may also lose the origin of these Bronze Age pirates and conquerors. In fact, the new DNA data at least weaken one of the common theories: Feldmann and his team did not find a good match with the DNA of Bronze Age steppe peoples.

"These data begin to close a temporal gap in the genetic map of the eastern Mediterranean, " explains Feldmann's colleague Johannes Krause.

European genes were quickly "diluted"

And yet, DNA analysis revealed that after the Philistines arrived in Ashkelon, they mingled relatively quickly with their neighbors. For 200 years later, the genetic footprint of immigrants is barely detectable, as the researchers report. Apparently, the European gene share was strongly "diluted" by intermarriage with the local population.

Although the Philistines in the late Iron Age culturally differed from their neighbors, they had long been "naturalized" genetically. (Science Advances, 2019; doi: 10.1126 / sciadv.aax0061)

Source: Max Planck Institute for the History of Human History

- Nadja Podbregar