اكتشاف كهفين جديدين في قمران

الاكتشافات القديمة تشير إلى استخدامها كمستودع تمرير

منظر لبعض كهوف قمران. © Ecopic / iStock
قراءة بصوت عال

اكتشاف مثير: اكتشف علماء الآثار اثنين من الكهوف بالقرب من قمران على البحر الميت - وأماكن للاختباء محتملة من مخطوطات الكتاب المقدس القديمة. بالإضافة إلى ما يقرب من 2000 عام من قطع الفخار وبقايا النسيج والخيوط ، وجد الباحثون أيضًا بقايا برميل التمرير في أحد الكهوف. ما إذا كانت الكهوف على الرغم من النهب لا يزال مخطوطات أو أجزاء من النصوص القديمة لا يزال غير واضح.

تم العثور على حوالي 900 قطعة من لفائف قمران في البحر الميت حتى الآن. يرجع تاريخها إلى الفترة ما بين 250 ق.م. إلى 50 م ، وتحتوي على نص كتابي من العهد القديم وكذلك تعليقات. تم الحفاظ على المخطوطات الفريدة في أباريق الطين وبالتالي الحفاظ عليها. بفضل تقنيات التحليل الحديثة ، يمكن حتى الآن رؤية نصوص باهتة شديدة الخفية على هذه الرقائق الهشة.

اثنين من الكهوف

ولفترة طويلة ، لم يُعرف إلا أحد عشر كهفًا به أواني طينية ومخطوطات في المنطقة الصحراوية الوعرة بالقرب من خربة قمران. ولكن في عام 2017 اكتشف علماء الآثار كهف آخر ، الثاني عشر. بالإضافة إلى بقايا أغطية القماش والرق غير المسجلة ، لم يعد هناك أي لفائف في النص - تم نهب الكهف منذ فترة طويلة.

جزء من التمرير المعبد ، أحد أطول اكتشافات قمران. © متحف إسرائيل

الآن ، اكتشف فريق من علماء الآثار الإسرائيليين والأمريكيين اثنين من الكهوف الأخرى بالقرب من قمران ، والتي كانت تستخدم من قبل Essenes. أفاد باحثون في مؤتمر للمدارس الأمريكية للأبحاث الشرقية في دنفر أن القبابتين 53b و 53 c تقعان على مقربة من الكهف الثاني عشر وتحتويان على اكتشافات تعود إلى الفترة ما بين 100 و 15 قبل الميلاد. حتى الكهوف المكتشفة حديثًا يبدو أنها قد نُهبت بالفعل.

بقايا سفينة التمرير

في الكهف 53 ب ، عثر علماء الآثار على مصباح وشظايا تخزين الجرار والأكواب وقدر البرونز. كما تم العثور على بقايا من الأقمشة المنسوجة والحبال المضفرة والخيوط على أرضية الكهف وبالتالي مؤشرات محتملة على استخدام هذا الكهف كمخيم لفافة التمرير. يقول راندال برايس من جامعة ليبرتي في فرجينيا: "لم نفحص جميع شظايا الطين من هذا الكهف حتى الآن ، لذلك نحن لا نعرف ما إذا كانت هناك لفيفة التمرير". عرض

في الكهف 53c بدأت الحفريات للتو. ولكن بالفعل الآن وجد العلماء جزءًا من تمرير التمرير الميت. هذا يثبت أنه تم تخزين النصوص مرة واحدة في هذا الكهف ، لذلك علماء الآثار. ما إذا كان قد تم الحفاظ على لفائف في أعماق الكهف ، وسوف تظهر الآن المزيد من التحقيقات.

المصدر: Livescience ، المدارس الأمريكية للأبحاث الشرقية

- ناديا بودبريجار

Two new caves discovered in Qumran

Ancient finds suggest use as a scroll repository

View of some of the caves of Qumran. © Ecopic / iStock
Read out

Exciting find: archaeologists have discovered two more caves near Qumran on the Dead Sea - and possible hiding places from ancient biblical scrolls. In addition to some 2, 000-year-old pottery shards, textile remnants and strings, the researchers also found remnants of a scroll barrel in one of the caves. Whether the caves despite plundering still scrolls or fragments of ancient texts contain is still unclear.

Around 900 fragments of Qumran scrolls have been found on the Dead Sea so far. They date from the period between 250 BC to 50 AD and contain biblical text from the Old Testament as well as commentaries. The unique manuscripts were preserved in clay jugs and thus preserved. Thanks to modern analysis techniques, even hidden, heavily faded texts can now be visualized on these fragile parchments.

Two more caves

For a long time only eleven caves with clay pots and scrolls were known in the rugged desert area near Khirbet Qumran. But in 2017 archaeologists discovered another, twelfth cave. In addition to the remains of fabric covers and unrecorded parchment, there were no longer any scrolls in the text - the cave was looted long ago.

Fragment of the Temple Scroll, one of the longest of the Qumran finds. © Israel Museum

Now, a team of Israeli and US archaeologists have discovered two more caves near Qumran, once also used by the Essenes. The 53b and 53c baptized vaults are located in close proximity to the twelfth cave and contain finds dating from between 100 and 15 BC, researchers reported at a conference of the American Schools of Oriental Research in Denver. Even the newly discovered caves seem to have already been looted.

Remains of a scroll-vessel

In the cave 53b the archeologists came across a lamp, shards of storage jars, cups and a bronze saucepan. Remains of woven fabrics, braided ropes and threads were also found on the cave floor and thus possible indications of the use of this cave as a scroll roll camp. "We have not examined all the clay fragments from this cave so far, so we do not know if there was a scroll scroll, " says Randall Price of Liberty University in Virginia. display

In the cave 53c the excavations have just started. But already now the scientists have found the fragment of a dead scroll scroll. This proves that texts were once stored in this cave, so the archaeologists. Whether scrolls have been preserved in the depths of the cave, will now show further investigations.

Source: Livescience, American Schools of Oriental Research

- Nadja Podbregar